57 Followers
36 Following
jenryland

jenryland

Then You Were Gone - Lauren Strasnick I did not find this book anything like Thirteen Reasons Why, as advertised in the blurb. Yes, one book has a girl who writes a suicide note and the other has a girl who leaves tapes explaining why she killed herself. If you are looking for a readalike for Thirteen Reasons, try something like Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson.Okay, that aside, once I adjusted to the fact that this book was not suspense or dual narration or really much of a mystery, I did find it a nice example of literary YA -- a beautifully written, evocative story about a girl's ambivalent feelings about her missing friend. Read full review on my blog!